A Little Less Of Me

What’s the difference between a nymphomaniac and a fatty? One’s trying to diet and the other is dying to try it….

Well, in my case, I’m both. Not so much a nympho but someone who is now dying to try a diet. Several events recently have prompted this – not least the fact I really need to start looking after my body better for my own well-being. So alongside my good lady wife (we are at it together, ooh errr missus!) we have set a target of losing two stone each by Christmas. I think this is more than achievable and we are actually looking forward to the challenge, discussing recipes, changing our lifestyle for the better and so on. We are following the Slimmingworld Programme which ticks all the boxes for us in terms of how to manage our food.

So, what are the big obstacles to over come? Well, one of the reasons why I have put on weight this year is that my office is next to the cake counter and only a few steps further from the morning bacon sandwiches. Also, I do enjoy the odd tin of beer in the evening. And I have a weakness for chocolate. And I do eat far too much bread. And, like most parents, I have a habit of finishing up what the kids don’t eat (in my “waste not want not” frame of mind) and nicking the odd sweet from them. However, taking the first step in identifying my weak points and planning on how to combat them will help. One of the beautys of the Slimmingworld scheme is that it basically talks sense and everything is ok in moderation. So I’m not a nymphomaniac in that respect after all. I’ll keep a record of progress on this blog over the weeks as we go about reaching our first targets.

About Graeme

Just over 40 and happy hubby/parent with a fondness for saucy British humour, especially Carry On Films. Nickname of Gremlin aquired at school prior to the film of the same name came out and stayed with me ever since, which I'm rather chuffed about.
This entry was posted in Diet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Little Less Of Me

  1. Judy says:

    Hey there, I totally understand this state of mind. That’s what started me going to the gym way back in February and it’s been a bit of a slow haul for me.

    But, to be honest, I think if I made more of an effort to change my eating habits for the better along with exercising, I might be a bit better off in the whole losing weight battle, but one thing at a time! hehe

    All the best to you and your family in this endeavour. It’s so much easier to do something like this, to challenge yourself while having someone else right there with you for moral support.

    I look forward to reading your updates. 🙂

Leave a Reply

