Living Off The Fat Of The Land

Over three weeks into the diet and there are a hell of a lot of positives to report. I feel fitter already, I’m less tired, more energetic and am really enjoying my food. The only down side is I’m missing me beer!

So, what did I do so far?

I identified from the outset where my weak points are likely to be and took steps to manage them. I’d replaced the ease of chocolate cake at work by removing the auto top up facility on my passcard and more importantly replacing it with a large fruit bowl on my desk. I’ve kept up an exercise routine and found support from some willing colleagues who are also wishing to get fitter. We have been power walking daily at lunchtime and have done one session of boxing into the mits. Blimey, they are muscles I’ve not used in a while!! As for the food at lunchtime I’ve been making my own with a little planning and can have some big portions of fat free goodies. I do get gasps of admiration when I open my lunchbox!!

The food at home has been a revelation also. Out with pizzas, any other pre-packed stuff and reduce the bread consumption down to the levels in the Slimmingworld Guide. We have rediscovered the joy of cooking, buying simple fresh products and preparing meals without any fats or oils. We are also converts to quark, a zero fat soft cheese that has become a substitute for many previous fatty foods such as mayo or even in some cases butter. The curry book that we have from slimmingworld has been tackled and we have produced much better food than you can get from your local tandoori house which is traditionally swimming in grease. With a little planning we have eaten exceptionally well and large portions but still being able to lose weight.

As for drink, this is really my big weakness and I have cut out the drinking mideweek. As for weekends, we did try zero alcohol beer but that really was no fun so back to the proper stuff. That too has been cut down though and replaced with a little wine. We have started using smaller glasses too so we are not throwing it down our throats and this has had the effect of making us enjoy the wine all the more.

And the results? I’ve lost 9.5lb in three weeks, already feel fitter and am generally less tired. Also I appear to have encouraged some colleagues into joining me, one of which was a big surprise. So far I am well on track on my target of losing 2 stones by Christmas and whilst I am currently still over 17 stones with work to do already I feel fab!

About Graeme

Just over 40 and happy hubby/parent with a fondness for saucy British humour, especially Carry On Films. Nickname of Gremlin aquired at school prior to the film of the same name came out and stayed with me ever since, which I'm rather chuffed about.
This entry was posted in Diet, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Living Off The Fat Of The Land

  1. Catherine Uretsky says:

    Good for you!

Leave a Reply

